Critical time in Honduras

I arrived to Honduras from Nicaragua five days ago. It took, thankfully only ONE bus, and twelve hours to arrive to San Pedro Sula. The cross was very simple with no security at all. I didn’t even see an immigration officer, the bus driver took care of all the passengers passport entry stamp. All I had to do was pay $8USD. With the way I think and see borders, I hope there is more security in the future to prevent the already heavy flow of human trafficking.  One day I will return and bring awareness or do something!

As I arrived to Honduras, I realized that the country was in election season, which I SHOULD have read before coming. Any who.. I went straight to San Pedro Sula where my cousin William lives with his family. I haven’t seen my cousin in 5 years so it was a great three days to see him and meet his precious baby.

After three days, I took a 5 hour bus to Tegucigalpa, the capitol. On the bus I began to hear talking about fear of the elections. I sat by a very informed 19 year old, whom is fed up with the violence and government directions of his country. He and other people informed me that there might be rioting due to the elections and Honduras being as dangerous as it is already, I was taken back a little. The 19 yrold was kind to help me find my place in the big city.

As I arrive to my host home (very comfortable and nice apt), I was introduced to a Salvadorian and a Chileno who are living in Honduras. They start to tell me of the fears that they feel due to the elections and they advice me to leave asap just in case something happens and I am stuck for a week or months in Honduras. The fears come from the rioting of the people due to fraud that they witness years back. The fear is also in the government rioting against the winner of the elections, if it is not in their favor. So there are currently lots of eyes opened while they wait for a new president. At the moment there is just fear but being here and as I was out in the streets, all I see is government militants to provide security. NO violence, NO people in the streets, it seems deserted. 

So as I wait with my host, watching the news every hour and looking out our window, we are hoping for a better future for Honduras.

Tomorrow I leave to El Salvador in the wee hours. Even though it is a bit unsteady, it is amazing to see history take place in Honduras. 

Until next time Honduras!

To see more info on Honduras check out these articles

WashingtonPost

Leave a comment